Further to my previous PSA

of (gulp!) April 11th:

20071006-woolpeddlershawl

The Wool Peddler’s Shawl was wet-blocked at last on this finally cool and breezy morning. The other shawl drying in the background is my original, single hank, garter-stitch shoulder shawlette that I knit about five years ago. I fell in love with this particular colorway of Jaggerspun Heather 3/8 yarn and just had to order more for another shawl. The subtle colors at play in this yarn are sadly lacking in the photo, but it’s full of blues, greens and purples. Lucky me, there’s enough left over from the Wool Peddler’s Shawl for another shawlette, but that will have to wait.

nakniswemo-smI’ve been pouring over my back copies of Interweave Knits, the patterns on my hard drive and the Internet to try and narrow down the possible sweater patterns for November’s NaKniSweMo. My only absolute rules for NaKniSweMo are that the sweater must be made with Stash (with a capital “S”) yarn and that the majority of knitting has to be done during November. Unfortunately for me browsing through magazines like this tends to be counter productive because I keep getting sidetracked by all the lovely patterns that I know full-well haven’t got a chance in hell of my knitting them.

Top picks at this point include (listed in terms of “absolute rules” as defined above):

  1. Jenna Wilson’s “Banff“, from Knitty Winter ’03
  2. Ann Budd’s “Pullover Flair”, from IK Spring’06
  3. Mags Kandis’ “Serape Jacket”, from IK Summer ’04
  4. Kristi Porter’s “Leo“, from Knitty Fall ’04
  5. Kathy Zimmermann’s “The Very Thought of Him“, from IK Spring ’00, and which is now available as a single PDF download on the IK site (ignore the Fall ’04 date, it’s incorrect)
  6. Annie Modesitt’s “Sideways Spencer“, from IK Fall ’04, which I have been itching to knit since seeing it, but of all the sweaters I’ve listed here, this is the most unlikely for NaKniSweMo.

Are you starting to see a trend here? :lol:

This is where the beauty of Ravelry comes in. I can check out each of these patterns to see if anyone has knit them, what yarns they used, approximately how long it took them to knit, and if they had any blog entries linked, I can read those too. Jess and Casey deserve a special reward for coming up with the idea. Knitters have been networking like crazy since the early, early days of the Net, via Usenet, mailing lists, forums, blogs and now the very latest version of our own social network.

Another NaKniSweMo update in a couple of weeks, after I make a decision, check for pattern Errata, dig out the yarn and start swatching.

5 thoughts on “Further to my previous PSA

  1. I have never been able to learn how to knit :( I learned how to crochet first, and knitting is so awkward to me. This shawl looks so beautiful with all that openwork around the edge. The bit of color I see is pretty.

  2. The same thing happened to me with crochet, Shirley. I know the basics, can do Tunisian crochet, but I’m most comfortable knitting, which I will be happy to teach you any day. :) The color, which I forgot to say, is on the blue-green side of indigo. The “traditional” wool peddler’s shawl was red.

  3. What a beautifully-knit shawl! Gorgeous!

    I started a Creatures of the Reef shawl for my first real lace project, and it’s been languishing on the needles for months…. :oops:

  4. Pingback: Stash Diving for NaKniSweMo « The WYSIWYG* Blog

Comments are closed.