My Three WordPress.com Wishes: First Wish

Anyone who reads this blog on a regular basis knows that I WordPress.com. The wranglers, gardeners, engineers and poets do an amazing job of keeping our little home on the web the envy of the blogging neighborhood.

While surfing around the web a few months ago, I kept bumping into articles about apps or utilities that made me think how great it would be if WordPress.com supported them. So, here is the first of my three wishes for making my WordPress.com world rock a little harder.

More Mobile!

Being resigned to the ranks of the un-cool using WordPress.com’s mobile site (m.wordpress.com), I found its bare bones functionality lacking a little something. Actually, lacking closer to everything.

With the estimated number of WordPress.com bloggers having reached 13 million+ (also according to one well-placed source) and WordPress.com celebrating the one millionth mobile user mark, one would hope there’d be some incentive to add an app to the growing arsenal of existing WordPress.com mobile apps for the rest of us without smartphones. Regular mobile phones still outnumber smartphones, especially outside the US. Sadly, however, nothing expected in the foreseeable future. (I know that it’s possible to post by email, but that’s just not the same thing.)

If there’s no incentive for WordPress.com to directly develop an app, then maybe Snaptu or Fring could pick up the challenge. With thirteen million blogs on WordPress.com alone, minus the combined WordPress.com and WordPress.org’s one million users using WordPress’ mobile apps, that’s a lot of potential users.

(The above tweet was brought to you by serendipity, as WordPress.com has just recently started using Twitter’s Blackberry Pie tweet embed. Thank you WordPress.com! #awesome #FTW)

There are, of course, two more posts coming with my additional wishes. Meantime, if you have your own wish that would make using WordPress.com more awesome for you, feel free to leave it in the comments. Better yet, why not start your own “Three Wishes” for WordPress.com. Who knows? Maybe between us, we’ll find that genie in a bottle.

Better shared!

Share

6 thoughts on “My Three WordPress.com Wishes: First Wish

  1. I endorse this wish Jennifer and add my own, I want to be able to search WordPress.com for like minded bloggers so be able to search for someone my age (or thereabouts) who likes walking, reading, lives in UK etc etc.
    We used to have this ability on Windows Live Spaces and it was fantastic! Helps I think to have blogger friends who are similar to you. (in my case, slightly bonkers as well!)

    Good post

    • Hm, I’m not quite sure how to take that! LOL Glad you enjoyed my post.

      Interesting idea about finding people by similar profile. Try searching by interest. The Admin bar now has a search by “all sites”.

  2. Pingback: My Three WordPress.com Wishes: Third Wish | The WYSIWYG* Blog

Comments are closed.