Quicksand and Sinkholes

Of the blogging sort, that is. Some people let their blogs linger on and on and others perform a radical blogectomy, deleting all their posts or even their entire blog. Several friends have lately decided to put a torch to what was their home on the Web. One of them routinely does so, along with almost all her other online accounts. It shouldn’t surprise me by now, but it still does. I sorely miss connecting with those online friends, many of whom I’ve known for close to a decade or more. On the other hand, other real life friends have taken up blogging with a passion and it amazes me they waited so long to do it. (Yes, SJ, you’re one of them. :) )

One of my favorite reads is The Pioneer Woman and her post on Ten Important Things I’ve Learned About Blogging speaks to me loudly, with the obvious exception of her second point, which I don’t think I’ll ever be able to stick to and maintain my sanity. (Have I mentioned that I have a brown thumb?) In spite of having a blog, I am not a writer by nature (I tend to express myself visually) and after 8 solid years of daily business writing, my personal  writing “style” has taken a serious hit. Worse still, at times it’s hard for me to find things that I think would resonate with my readers.  Heaven knows there’s enough WordPress.com memes around (Plinky and Post a Day for example), but I find I’m not much of a joiner and tend to go off in my own direction and certainly at my own pace.

There’s a crazy number of blogs online these days, somewhere around 30 million on WordPress.com alone, and finding the blogs that speak to you is an enormous challenge. So if I haven’t said it lately, I’m thankful for each of you that takes a few minutes to stop by my little salon. Coffee?

6 thoughts on “Quicksand and Sinkholes

  1. Thank you, JBT, for making my morning. That was very sweet. I must confess, however, every Sunday night I think about pulling the plug but then my righteous indignation about something pops up…and well, what can I say other than I’m compulsive.

    For the record, I love your visual comments. You are a very expressive photog and I rather enjoy that aspect of your blog. Anyone can take pictures….not everyone can telegraph sense and sensibility with them.

    By the way, it’s snowing on your blog. That’s a very cool effect coming from someone who ain’t on the tundra.

    hugs from Minnesnowta!
    sj

    • Thanks for the compliments, SJ, but we know who’s the writer and it’s not me. I love your writing style.

      Here’s MNsnowtan for you. Two whole seconds after you mention the word “snowing” I get spammed from a snow removal company. :)

  2. I love reading your posts! And I agree on the blogectomy thing. I have done it before… because I just get bored… :P This time, though, I have decided to stick to this place and when I run out of ideas, I will just take a break instead of torching the whole thing. I know I am bound to come back someday soon with more to talk about… so why bother burning down whatever I built previously? Maybe this way I get to chronicle the evolution of my styles!

  3. I can’t imagine why anyone would want to throw away all that work by deleting a blog. Unless they had stuff on there that would come back to haunt them in a meaningful way, why do it? As long as wordpress.com exists, my blog will be on it.

Comments are closed.